Home » Our Members » Atlantic Technological University

Atlantic Technological University

Operational Board Member

Dr Ciarán Ó hAnnracháin
Operational Board Member Photo

Location: West and Northwest Ireland (Europe) 

Overview of University 

Atlantic Technological University (ATU) is a multi-campus technological university based in the west and northwest of Ireland, with campuses in Galway, Mayo, Sligo and Donegal. The university serves a diverse group of students, staff, communities and organisations with a rich history of academic and research excellence. The university prides itself on its practice-orientated study and research that address major global and societal challenges. Like other WTUN members, ATU are dedicated to enabling sustainable economic, social and cultural development in its surrounding regions and worldwide. 

University Structure 

  • Faculty of Business 
  • Faculty of Science and Health 
  • Faculty of Engineering and Technology 
  • Faculty of Creative Arts and Education 

Research Focuses 

ATU delivers varied research across its campuses. They are experienced in applying Intellectual Property knowledge and business incubation to take their research to market via companies with Institutional expertise. Some of their research centres are listed below.

ATU hosts 3 National Technology Gateways

ATU engages in Industry Innovation Collaborations:

ATU currently offers 7 Post Graduate Research Training Programmes, with 12 PhD students per programme, funded by the European Regional Development Fund:


International Relations 

ATU has over 90 formal cooperation agreements with other universities, 60 of those regionally and 31 worldwide. ATU is a member of the EU GREEN European University Alliance with 8 other European University partners and has around 60 Erasmus+ cooperation partnerships across Europe. ATU also has partners in North America (USA and Canada), Malaysia, and South America. 

Atlantic Technological University and the WTUN


© World Technology Universities Network 2024